CINE "DIANA"      EPIDAVROS THEATRE YELLOW PAGES      ACCOMMODATION     FOOD     ENTERTAINMENT     CONTACT      HOME      Ελληνικά Αγγλικά  
   TRANSPORT      HAVE FUN IN POROS
Architecture of the Monastery
 

The Monastery of the Life Source (Zoodochos Pigi), in a distance of 4.080 m. from the centre of Poros (Square of Heroes), which dates in the 18th century, is built in a green plain and comprises a unique sample of the insular monastic architecture. Its name comes from the unique fountain of the island, which according to the tradition is known for its therapeutical qualities.

The temple, the magic view, the tall and powerful walls and its precious wooden sculpted chancel screen which was designed in Kappadokia of the Asia Minor in the 17th century, are some of its many sights.

The area of the monastery is one of the tourist areas of the island. The Monastery is built on a green, full of pine trees hill, “Kiafa”, in 500 m. distance from the coast. The coast is sandy and the sea is clean and blue. There are 2-3 small taverns, where there is always fresh fish.

At the end of the route, there is a fountain, which pours its water unstoppably below majestic pine trees and planes. On its marble forefront, someone can see the inscription at which appears that it was constructed with the expenditure of Zin. Hatziloukas, father of the admiral I. Hatziloukas.

On the opposite of the fountain, the Monastery of the Fountain of Life is built. In the centre there is the church of the Fountain of Life and around it, the two-floor cells are raised.

Between the church and the cells, there is a well enough spacious and tile parvis. The chancel screen of the church is a great work of art. Also, the picture of the Fountain of Life is marvelous, which was painted round the 1850 by the Italian painter, Raphael Tsekoli.It is said that this painter came to the Monastery with his diseased daughter, who eventually died and was buried in the parvis of the church. Her grave still exists until today.

Then, Tsekoli painted the picture of Madonna according to the beautiful figure of his beloved daughter.

This Monastery of Kalauria is a male monastery and was created by the Eparch of Athens, Jacob the 2nd, from 1713 until 1734. The Eparch Jacob made this work because he suffered from the lithium disease and recovered when he drank water from the fountain that was near there.

The Ecumenical Patriarch, Paesios the 2nd, who dominated from 1726 until 1733, published a signet, with which the Monastery was identified as Stauropigiaki (this means that when it was built, a cross was buried in its fundaments, which the Patriarch had sent), so this Monastery wasn’t falling under the bishop of the territory but directly under the Patriarch. Nowadays, the Monastery belongs to the Holly Metropolis of Hydra.

At the antetemple, the graves of the admirals of the Revolution of 1821, Manolis Tompazis and Nikolaos Apostolis, are found. Also, at the parvis there are other graves of various families.

       

BACK

BOAT SUPPLY
DIESEL or PETROL





























 
 
 
HOTELS
SUITES AND SPA
 
Where to stay >>
 
ROOMS - STUDIOS
APARTMENTS
 
Where to stay >>
 
FOOD
RESTAURANTS-TAVERNS
GRILL HOUSES-MEZE
PIZZA-ITALIAN
Where to eat >>
 
ENTERTAINMENT
COCKTAIL BARS
CAFE-SNACK
BEACH BARS
Where to have fun >>
             
BOAT SUPPLY
Supply of petrol-diesel 
Food, drinks, ice cubes
 
TRAVEL AGENTS
Where to stay in Poros
Organizing excursions
 
APARTMENTS & SPA 
Heated pool with ozon, Hamam
Gym, Hydromassage,  Sauna
 
LETTING OF BOATS-CRUISES
Travel the Argosaronic
with boat or cuise ship
 
LETTINGS
Houses
Apartments
SALES
Houses, Offices
eal estate market
ATHENS AIRPORT
Arrivals
Departures
PIREUS PORT
Arrivals
Departures
TRAINS, BUSES
Arrivals
Departures
GET INFORMED
Telephone Directory
Yellow Pages
USEFUL LINKS
KEP  -  OAED
ASEP  -  EOT
     
EmpNeusis Web Design and Hosting Services
E-mail : webdesigner@empneusis.gr